Broken

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Broken.”

Beach, in the conservation area at the southern tip of Cozumel, Mexico:

IMG_1378
A lot of the trash did not appear to come from Mexico. Skiing, anyone?

The 2,500 acres set aside in Faro Celarain Eco Park, also known as Parque Punta Sur, are home to nesting sea turtles and several species of exotic birds.

Every year the nonprofit group Ocean Conservancy organizes volunteers around the world to pick up trash from beaches. The top ten items most frequently found:

TopTenItems_2013_Dever_RevisedLF
Photo Source: Ocean Conservancy

Two years ago our town banned the use of plastic bags for carrying out groceries (produce bags still allowed). Oh, the hue and cry. There were letters to the editor in protest. One letter writer threatened to shop in another town. Business would suffer! Yet now, no one complains. There’s a sense of civic pride.

How many other used, disposable and broken things could we easily re-use, fix or not use at all?

Have you been to the coast lately? Any broken stuff on the beach?

22 comments

  • Nice post, JB. I kayak on a huge lake on the dammed-up Tennessee river. I make a weekly game of retrieving lost fishing lures and floats. The fluorescent oranges and yellow-greens beckon from a quarter mile away. I’ve recycled the hundreds of reclaimed bobbers to fishermen or used them artistically. Garbage doesn’t have to remain garbage. But it does need to be harvested from our waterways.

    Liked by 1 person

  • I never understand why people litter. It’s so easy to find a trash can, especially in the US, there’s no need to leave it on the ground (or the beach or throw it in the water). It’s always sad to see a beach so littered with nondegradable waste.

    Liked by 1 person

  • I used to haul sack-loads of plastic detritus up the 300 foot tall cliff path from the high-water mark of the shoreline where I lived in Cornwall, England. Talk about a Sisyphean task.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Didn’t Camus end his “Myth of” essay with something like — the task in and of itself must be satisfying? Why else would we pick up plastic from the beaches? Anyway, hurrah that you did that. You probably inspired others to do the same. Better to start somewhere than not at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, yes, it did seem a satisfying thing to do at the time, even though Camus may have said to me at the time “nothing really matters” – or was that Freddie Mercury? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  • there oughtta be an icon to press besigheds “like”. none of us “like” this subject — collectively we are saddened. well, you know what i say/think about this. i think my first foray to your site was the sea of cortez. ¿did i mention my parents’ ashes are in the sea of cortez? –> i should go back to visit — i try to make a habit of bringin’ back more trash than i would have left during every out-of-doors foray. sometimes it seems so futile … but (uv coarse!) we gotta soldier on …

    Like

    • What a wonderful place for one’s ashes to end up. And what a good reminder to me that all this, even the plastic fiasco, is part of the big story. Even with all our destructiveness, and creativity, we are just blips.

      Like

  • I haven’t even been at a beach lately.
    My biggest peeves are plastic water bottles and plastic bags. Walmart is much to generous with their bags. A humungous city in the vicinity proposed the banning of plastic bags. Oh, the cries that came. It never happened. What an opportunity lost! 😦

    Like

  • Last month I watched (in horror) the documentary, Plastic Paradise: The Great Pacific Garbage Patch. Eye opening and heartbreaking, indeed.
    Wish I could understand how humans–both in singular and corporate form–can allow themselves and their companies to harm this planet and be so wasteful.
    I know my teens think I’m a bit loopy because I wash out and reuse all plastic bags if they find their way into my house, but it’s such a simple thing to do.
    I applaud your town. Half the shops in my town do too, but we’ve got quite a ways to go.
    Thanks for the reminder, JB. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Sadly that’s the condition of our ocean 😦 Sometimes we saw plastic bottles and bags on seabed during scuba diving – usually we brought them back to shore to be disposed properly but I guess there are many more down there that we did not see.. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  • So sad. On the local beach front, or should I say, my home away from home now that I’ve moved east. But word is there’s been a lot of sightings for sharks. Lots of them. They’ve come in to feed amongst the shore. Sea lions. Yep, they had a lot of them wash up in SoCal. I’m just sick though about Santa Barbara. The locals are fuming. This is just what they’ve been afraid of. So not good. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hard news about Santa Barbara, especially because it seems to have hardly made a dent in the national news. Are we getting used to oil spills?

      Like

      • A lot is being kept out of the national news. I think they’re trying to create a utopian society. Hear no evil, see no evil, therefore everything is wonderful. There’s nothing to worry about. Don’t we wish!

        Liked by 1 person

  • It’s been 4+ years since I’ve seen the ocean.
    I use cloth bags. I love the old fashioned paper bags (with handles) one gets in Portland, now that they’ve banned plastic bags. Great idea, banning plastic.

    Like

Submit a comment

