Week 34: Mental Cacophony

Is there such a thing as reverse cabin fever?

Source: MorgueFile
Help! My inner hothouse flower has taken control. Source: MorgueFile

These December days my inner hot house flower is in the driver’s seat, with the radio on full blast, singing at the top of her lungs. …

Na na na-na na.  It’s nothin’ but dreamin’ anyhow.”  

Sensible me squeaks, “Go outside. Two walks a week. It won’t kill you,”  … but other brain parts drown that out too, busy as they are with seasonal concerns:

Frontal lobe: “Don’t even think about eating that chocolate cake.”
Hippocampus: “Yumm. Sugar. Carbohydrates.”
Frontal lobe: “We just ate two cookies and a piece of pie!”
Hippocampus: “Sugar Carbohydrates. Must. Have. Chocolate. We can go to the gym tomorrow and run on the treadmill for seven hours.”
Pons: “Hey guys, no need to fight.  Maybe we can work something out here.”
Hippocampus and Frontal lobe:  “Get out. We’re busy.”


“Just a few more berries.” “No way. Shut up and go to sleep.”

Took a walk in the back yard, although the yard is about 20′ x 30′  and saturated, so it was more of a squelch than a walk.

It was dreary out there, a scene to make you crave a long winter’s nap. Even the hummingbirds, intrepid winter denizens that they are, weren’t around, maybe because there was two inches of snow on their feeder.  Knocked the snow off.

Within minutes a bird zipped past, zeroing in on the sugar water.  Probably starving.  OK, message received.  Self talk? Hibernation? Fine, as long as they don’t drown out the world.  ‘Tis the season. May your inner orchid be coddled and quiet, so the hummingbirds get fed. Happy holidays.

Wanted:  Tips for getting myself out of my car and the house.   

(Update on the quest to commute, powered by muscle, 104 times in 52 weeks.  Week 32:  walked 2x, bicycled zero. Week 33:  walked 3x, bicycled zero. Week 34: walked 1x, bicycled zero. Grand total:  81, 13 in the bank).
 

12 comments

  • Ah, yes, I’ve had plenty of those inner dialogues myself, though they seem to enjoy self-doubt as their topic of choice…

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it. 🙂

    Like

  • A site worth visiting! An internist with self-doubts??? Whoa. That’s something to chew on. Anyone who gets through pre-med, medical school, residency and internships (phew!) is resting on a mountain of accomplishment, and we lay folks so appreciate you. Can you tell that inner doubter she’s on permanent vacation? I know, I know (from personal experience), easier said than done. Happy holidays and thanks for the visit.

    Like

  • I just love the intra-brain conversation! I know that phenomenon quite well myself. Your rendition made me chuckle out loud. 🙂

    Like

    • It amazes me sometimes this wet mass between our ears is the source of multiple conversations with itself. Happy holidays!

      Like

  • Yes indeed. I call it hunkering down for the winter. I start crochetting. Happy to be an utter homebody. I do get on the treadmill and do workout videos but that’s only because it’s all there in the comfort of our home. 😉

    Like

  • What are you crocheting? Sounds cozy. Hope you have a wonderful holiday with lots of good hunkering and many wonderful books.

    Like

  • Here as promised, to peruse your back pages that I have missed, until now. Great tune by Stephen Stills! Reverse cabin fever, huh? Well in any case, I think that your inner hot house flower looks very cool, because I’ve always liked orchids. And I enjoyed your inner debate between the different regions of your brain, since I can relate to similar debates that have taken place, within my own cranial space.

    But I’m also glad that you got out and your humming bird got fed. I will also add that 104 rides in 52 weeks is not too shabby at all, but quite impressive. WTG Julia B!!!

    Like

Submit a comment

