Weeks 25 and 26: Walking Counts

New Rule:  in the quest to cycle at least twice a week for a year, starting this week a commute on foot hereby counts as a bicycle ride.

It was April when I decided to drive less and bicycle more.  What was I was thinking? Winter wouldn’t come again?

My town, October to April

July brought the discovery that it is possible to wipe out for no good reason, without the aid of cars, pedestrians or bad weather: (http://jbw0123.blogspot.com/2012/07/ow-week-14-and-book-review.html).

No need to be hard core.  If it’s dark, wet, cold, if leaves are piled dangerously in the bike path, if my inner warning system is hollering don’t do it, I won’t. The point is, after all, to Get Out Of the Car. My feet work fine. We have plenty of shoes.

Yeah, walking in the rain can be a little lonely.
It also presents new challenges…
Through or around? Through or around?

… but there’s something to be said for getting through the season in one piece.  Vive la pedestrians.

“Now shall I walk or shall I ride? ‘Ride,’ Pleasure said; ‘Walk,’ Joy replied.”  — W.H. Davies

What adjustments do you make for winter commutes?  Or are you lucky enough to live in a sunny place where weather isn’t an issue?

Update on the quest to bicycle commute sans fossil fuels 104 times in 52 weeks.  Week 25:  rode/commuted twice.  Week 26:  2 rides + one walk to the store.  Grand total:   68 (16 in the bank).

 

13 comments

  • When I lived in NY, I used to take two hour walks around the city. I’d get off 3 stops too early and take a 20 minute power walk home. Good times. It’s harder in the country. No sidewalks here. Luckily the roads are less busy too. 😉

    Like

  • New York to countryside, that’s a switch! What prompted you to move? Maybe you should get one of those fluorescent triangles the Amish put on their buggies. (Here I am!) Kidding! Thanks for the visit.

    Like

    • See? I TOLD you that walking counts! I’m just glad that you finally came to your senses, and followed MY excellent advice! (kidding – all credit is yours – until you max out the credit card.)

      You said “No need to be hard core…” Seriously, I agree with you, or at least now I do, because gone are the hard core days of my youth when I ran 8 miles in 102 degree summer heat just to prove a point, and a very ridiculous point as well! I was vacationing in North Carolina at the time, and when I found out that we were staying near a Marine Corps base, well I was hell bent to prove to all those USMC leathernecks that a counter-cultural liberal hippie freak like me, was every bit as tough as they were!!!

      While true that none of these Marines ever knew about my 8 mile run in 102 degree heat, since they had no way of knowing about it while stationed on their base 15 miles away from me… I didn’t care anything about irrelevant technicalities like that one!

      I proved my point, and it was enough for me that I knew ALL about it, even if none of those macho Marine guys ever knew anything about it at all! Because their ignorance was NO excuse, and never attempt to question the reasoning of a 19 year old male, (me, at the time) during the prime of his highest testosterone levels! Lol 😀

      Seriously, I’m glad that you are walking your commute and getting the benefit of the exercise, rain or shine, and there’s definitely something to be said for getting through the season in one piece.

      Here in New England where I live, we will soon have this stuff on the ground called snow… It’s a pain in the ass to drive in, but it’s great for cross country skiing, which is one of my favorite ways of staying in shape when the winter weather keeps me from biking outside.

      Happy trails, Julia! 🙂

      Like

  • And happy trials too? Oo, the weatherman says you might be in for a doozy this week in New England. Are you ready? We only get about a week of soggy snow a year, and much rain. At least you don’t have to shovel rain.

    I hear ya about the running phase. I went through one too, but never got past feeling like my brain was banging against my skull. Good to see that you know the proper term for Marines is “Marines,” not soldiers, which is how Mitt referred to them in the last debate. Stay warm and dry! P.S. You get a pass from outdoor activities when there’s a hurricane.

    Like

    • Happy trials too? Well I sure hope so, and you may or may not know what I mean by that… And yes, shoveling rain would suck. Unless it pays 100K a year, and then I might at least consider it.

      Yes, we’re all ready for Sandy, although I’ll admit that her path, which may travel over the ocean and not make landfall until somewhere around New Jersey or NYC, is somewhat of a concern for us. Up here in NE, we are more used to East Coast hurricanes wearing down before they get to us, because they usually use up most of their energy by beating the crap out of several more deserving southeastern states first… (kidding about “more deserving” part! Bad karma! lol)

      Running phases – Interesting that you felt more like your brain was getting banged up, since I felt more like my knees were getting banged up – but maybe my brain was getting banged up too, which may be why I’ve lost all memory of that ever happening to me.

      Mitt’s mistake about calling Marines soldiers could have been worse – He could have called them pansies, which I happen to know from my own personal experience, is a far worse mistake to make, and most of all, late at night in a bar! I strongly advise you NOT to try it, and please trust the wisdom of my experience here, which I am generous enough to share with you…

      Now WHY would I want a pass from outdoor activities during a hurricane? And no I’m NOT kidding, and ohhh the stories I could tell, to prove it! But… maybe just for once, I’ll tell those stories another time.

      I gotta go now, cause my wife just mentioned something about going out on a hot date with her divorce lawyer, and I suspect that this may be one of those very subtle signs that women give out, when they aren’t completely happy with the man in their life – so I really need to speak to that guy!

      Bye! LOL 😀

      Like

    • Lol – It IS a good attention getter when nothing else seems to be reaching us guys… and I’m glad to share with you some potentially helpful advice.

      But just one thing… please don’t tell other men that I was the one who gave you this advice, since it could get me severely reprimanded or even expelled from “The International Brotherhood of Men With SOs Who Have ADD.” (we really need a shorter name!) And no, not SOs with THAT kind of ADD – We mean the women in our lives who suffer from a deficit of OUR attention paid to them – and how we can get them to stop bugging us about it! 🙂

      Which is why my “brothers” would view me giving you this kind of advice as a serious betrayal, and giving aid and comfort to the enemy, when we want to be able to continue “sleeping with the enemy” instead of on the couch! LOL 😀

      Like

  • Lol – It IS a good attention getter when nothing else seems to be reaching us guys… and I’m glad to share with you some potentially helpful advice.

    But just one thing… please don’t tell other men that I was the one who gave you this advice, since it could get me severely reprimanded or even expelled from “The International Brotherhood of Men With SOs Who Have ADD.” (we really need a shorter name!) And no, not SOs with THAT kind of ADD – We mean the women in our lives who suffer from a deficit of OUR attention paid to them – and how we can get them to stop bugging us about it! 🙂

    Which is why my “brothers” would view me giving you this kind of advice as a serious betrayal, and giving aid and comfort to the enemy, when we want to be able to continue “sleeping with the enemy” instead of on the couch! LOL 😀

    Like

    • Thanks for De-spamming me! 🙂 Nope, I guess that string bikinis are not considered a spam issue, so I suspect that it was my mention of “The International Brotherhood of Men With SOs Who Have ADD.” that got WP’s spam guardian on high alert – although I don’t know why, cause the only thing that we ever try to sell, are some occasional BS excuses and stories to our wives and girlfriends, that they seldom ever buy.

      So there’s no need to guard WordPressians from our commercial interests, because the only commercials we find interesting, are the ones for Bacardi Mojito with all the bare midriff and hip swaying bump and grind dancing to the beat in the hot nightclub, with the rhythm apparently controlled by that dude who is slightly smiling, while rhythmically grinding mint leaves into a glass with his wooden stick, and I just can’t imagine what the unspoken marketing message is all about for that one! 🙂

      Or maybe an occasional Victoria’s Secret angel sighting, but these commercials are rare, and I think that VS really needs to get more serious about their commitment to TV advertising. Getting the catalog in the mail is nice for some leisurely paced visual appreciation, but not as exciting as the pleasantly unexpected surprise of an HDTV wide screen scene of a Victoria’s Secret angel who is not only modeling but also speaking, and in a tone of voice that most guys understand and enjoy – even though they tend to not remember the words she is saying.

      But hey… Wait a minute here! I just remembered WHY those VS TV ads are rare – and it’s because they only air them during the Holiday Season, and at the height of the pressure of the gift buying retail consumerism feeding frenzy, followed by those potentially awkward and uncomfortable extended family gatherings and dinners – which is now not that far away, and soon to be looming large in our lives once again!

      Ugh! Never mind… cause now with all THAT associated with it, I’m just no longer in the mood to see those Victoria’s Secret angel commercials, and the VS catalog sent at random intervals in the mail suddenly seems much more appealing! Man… Careful what you wish for, huh? And if THIS reply gets banished to the spam file, well I guess that I deserved it! Lol 😀

      Like

  • No spam. What disrespect for a perfectly good food. Good luck with family get-togethers.

    You know, you don’t have to wait for the commercials. VS has stores in all the malls, complete with lovely angels, and they are very happy when men stop by. You say, “she’s about this big,” measuring with your hands.

    Like

    • That’s an excellent point you made about spam being good food, because the “Pythons” loved spam, and repeatedly, repeatedly again, and repeatedly even more! I’ll bet that they even served it at “The Ministry of Funny Walks” and John Cleese, I’ll always love you, man! 😀

      We can hear Sandy howling around our kitchen door right now as I type this, but my wife and I have both agreed that we better not let her in. (I always love you too, Warren Zevon, and hate cancer for taking you away from us way too soon.) But Sandy hasn’t taken away our power yet, and apparently she doesn’t like to be reminded of that, because the lights just literally flickered here, right as I was typing the first part of this sentence. (Note to self – no more hurricane taunting!)

      I know I don’t have to wait for the VS commercials, since I’ve gone to visit those lovely angels where they live, and yes they do seem almost as happy to see me, as I am to see them. 🙂 I enjoyed your advice in which you said “You say, “she’s about this big,” measuring with your hands.” (Does the hand measuring include touching and feeling? Suddenly I’m feeling jealous of Stevie Wonder… Lol – I’m kidding!)

      But being a man of some sophistication and a lot of experience, I use a different approach with the VS angels… I watch them until I see one that is closest to my wife in shape and size, and then approach her. When she asks me for my wife’s size, I say “Well, the woman that I love, is very close to your size, and I’m a very lucky guy.” This always guarantees me the very best customer service effort from my chosen VS angel, as we both enjoy our business interaction. Lol 🙂

      But what if there are no VS angels in the store, who are my wife’s size? Well, I sigh sadly, and then use my far less fun but always successful strategy of having memorized my wife’s actual size for panties and bras… And I better stop typing and post this now, cause Sandy is getting more serious with her threats to shut me down. She just blew up an electrical transformer with a loud explosion in another part of town, and I know that my part of town could be next, any second!

      Bye Julia, and I’ll see ya again, whenever that may be possible again. 🙂

      Like

Submit a comment

