What your name says about you.

What does your name mean? Does it suit you? If you’re a blogger, how did you pick your blog title?

If you don’t know the definition of your name, I recommend you drop in to Urban Dictionary, which offers the latest, coolest, most flattering definitions of who your name says you are. For instance, take Julia (ahem):

“a name for girls. Most julia’s are artistic, smart, romantic, beautiful and also very charming. Julia’s can get whatever they want if they try. They can be very sexy so watch out! They are romantics and love old movies, art and books. they love old stuff! They usually aren’t very athletic but if a julia is athletic she’s kick butt! they have great fashion sense and usually look smokin’. A julia will most likely become a mother because they love kids. They are very successful in life and there is just something about them that draws people in. Also they are ah-mazing dancers!
– Julia roberts
– julia stiles
– julia meyerhoff
– julia schneiderman
– julia ormond
– julia de burgo”

Just get me a crown, will ya?

Much better than Dictionary.com, which says Julia is the male form of Julius, then bumps you to this:

“masc. proper name, from L. Julius, name of a Roman gens, perhaps a contraction of *Jovilios “pertaining to or descended from Jove.”

 Ho hum, by jove.

Juliuscaesar

Thank you wikipedia for your wonderful free photos

From now on, signing my name, Smokin’

Speaking of names, celebrate a new blog name with me! Henceforth, Schrodinger’s Cat is Alive (my former blog name) will remain, alive and dead in it’s box, free for the taking by someone else worthy of such mathematical wonders. In it’s place: Scribbler’s Playhouse. That’s what really goes on here anyway.  Thank you all you writers who drop in and egg me on, providing the impetus to come out as a writer.  Turns out it’s nothing to be ashamed of.

If you’re busy this week and don’t have time to look up the etymology (love that word. Roll it around your tongue. Tastes sweet, doesn’t it?), I’ll look up your name for you. Promise to only tell you the good stuff about yourself, especially if you push the Follow button.

Cheers

19 thoughts on “What your name says about you.

  1. Carrie: “hottest girl ever. always hard to get. sassy and classy at the same time. stunning eyes that draws you in. gorgeous and sexy. usually looks for independence and always good at everything.
    a dime piece, the realest bitch. never betrays her friends and always keeps her word.”—Hmm, well I am sassy, independent, loyal, and I always keep my word, but that’s where it ends. Something tells me those name ‘meanings’ aren’t very specific. ;)

    Love your blog’s new name and header. Looks great!

    Like

    • Let’s see. “The hottest thing since sunburn. The Larry is incredibly sexy, a great kisser, and the kind of guy you just want to walk up to and hug. He’s fun to be around and easy to talk to. Everyone should have a Larry in their lives!” Also: Another word for marijuana: “There’s good Larry, bad Larry, mediocre Larry, left over Larry. Even already been vaporized Larry. But when it comes down to it, all Larry is, is just Larry. He can pick you when your down. Make you smile when you wanna frown. He makes you forget things that are important. But yet you only remember certain things when he’s around. He’s reliable and trustworthy, always there when you need him. He’s the perfect friend.” There you go. Perfect friend and good in the sack.

      I foresee a bright future for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Karen is the perfect woman. She has no flaw. She’s funny, sweet, smart as hell, and above all, she is extremely gorgeous. She doesn’t let anyone push her around and she has a great personality. She has some awesome goals set and always wins my heart.” Ha, ha, ha! *Takes a bow* That was fun.

    Love the new blog name. It suits you well. And yes, what is up with the “Like” button. My site has just undergone a major remodel and I’m having trouble with my “Like” button too. I am suspicious that there’s a little bug in the WordPress Jet Pack.

    So great to see you Julia! I hope all is well with you and your family. I haven’t blogged in five months. Time to get things rolling again. I’m thinking of having a re-launch blog party. Want to come? :)

    Like

  3. LOVING the new blog name! I KNEW I liked you for many reasons but the fact that you are an ah-mazing dancer seals the deal!! That’s what I’m talking about! I’m dancing to Brick House with ‘you’ as I speak (write). :) :)

    Maria:
    ‘The most sexy girl you will ever meet, known to blow the minds of many men. Extremely talented and beautiful, eyes cut from stars.’
    The song. “Maria.. I just met a girl named Maria.”

    Woot, Woot! I am taking my sexy self over to my husband right now to show him this fabulous definition, in case…he has forgotten what he married. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

